Museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not the local people. Why is this so? What could be done to encourage more local visitors?

Monumental sites are popular among the tourists but not locals. There are a number of reasons for this but certain measures could be taken to mitigate this problem.

There are several causes of this phenomenon. The main one is that most cultures are now dominated by Western influence. People, especially the young, are in danger of losing their cultural identity as they are more interested in popular culture than in their own heritage. In addition, travellers have a strong intention to visit these heritage sites because these buildings are what set the destination countries apart from the ones travellers come from. Hence, that is why these places of interest are more popular among travellers than locals.

Several measures could be taken in order to address the above. To begin with, the government can promote a vibrant art scene by holding festivals, events and competitions related to these historical sites. This will highlight the significance of these buildings, causing people to learn to treasure their past. Another way forward could be for museums to offer a subsidised rate of entry for locals. This will help to reduce the number of locals who are deterred by high entry fees to visit the ancient buildings in their cities.

In conclusion, various factors have contributed to the problem of why locals are not visiting the heritage sites in their own countries, but this situation could be addressed by giving a concession rate to locals and organising art events. Given this situation, it is important for the governing body of Arts and Culture in a country to continually think of ways to engage their people.