Some People say only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

In the present context, approach toward learning foreign languages has demonstrated a humongous difference.Some tend to believe travelling and working as the main reasons to learn a foreign language whereas others accept the fact that there are numerous other factors creates the necessity to learn a foreign language.

To begin with, it is crystal clear majority of the work population have a tendency to migrate to other countries to work while majority of the modern generation travel around the globe considerably.Consequently, other languages are learnt to facilitate the smooth work flow and survival in a totally different society further making travelling convenient.For example, some occupations demand the language fluency at the initial stage of recruitment to ensure the capability to cope up with a totally new work environment and nowadays travelers attempt to learn basic language skills whenever they plan to travel to a new detestation.Therefore, it is understood that sometime people learn foreign languages to work and travel as the mere purpose.

In contrast, it is noticed that some prefer to learn other languages to study the cultural differences while maintaining a good rapport with new people they meet. Even though this is relatively rare, people migrating to other countries are the best testimony to prove there are other reasons to learn another language. In fact, language barriers are rectified, the society to be lived is studied and new relationships are being built before they move into other countries. For instance, people migrating into a country that use only a native language will certainly attempt to learn the language basics prior to the migration.Simultaneously, there are a plenty of other reasons to learn a foreign language other than travel or work.

To Conclude, some people see the mere reason to learn a language is to work or travel however some believe that there are other reasons that arouse the requirement to learn another language. In my opinion, work or travel will remain the main reasons to learn a foreign language however there are a plethora of other reasons to learn a foreign language in spite of the same.