Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

It is a fact that countless people prefer to travel by cars instead of buses and cars. What are the reasons behind it? To motivate people to travel by public transport what government can do? This essay will discuss both of these questions.

There are many reasons to use private cars. First and foremost, to save valuable time, many travelers use cars. Waiting for buses or trains is a common scenario in many countries which means that one has to waste a lot of time to reach his destination. For example, in India, passengers have to wait for more than thirty minutes at the bus station to get their desired bus at 8.30 am (office hours) whereas at 10.00 am (normal hours), they have to wait for fifteen to twenty minutes to have their bus.

Second reason for using car is comfort. Reservation of seats is not always possible in public transport. After long working hours, it is really very uncomfortable. The person who owns a car, he does not need to face this kind of difficulties. Therefore, people always like to travel by cars.

Under these circumstances, to motivate people to use public transport, government needs to take initiative which is different. Firstly, “Yearly Income Tax Remission” project could be a good initiative. In the countries like USA, UK, Canada, this type of project is successfully implemented. If a person regularly travels by buses or trains, he can avail this opportunity.

In conclusion, the essay discussed the reasons of using cars ignoring public transport. In my opinion, to save time and to have a comfortable journey, people are doing this. Government could change the situation by introducing project like “Yearly Income Tax Remission”.