Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, such as the army, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Increasing numbers of women are choosing to work in the police and armed forces nowadays and have showed their mettle in these fields. Some individuals opine that women should be able to work shoulder to shoulder with men in these fields. Others disagree and say that women are not suited for such jobs. In the following paragraphs I intend to discuss both views.

Nowadays we are heading towards an egalitarian society in which all should have equal rights. Therefore, women should have the same right as men to choose their profession. People should be chosen for jobs based on their skills, qualification and character. So if a woman has enough ability to join armed forces, she should be welcome to become a soldier or a police officer. Gender should not come in the way of the selection process.

On the other hand some people say that women lack physical strength and therefore they are not fit to be in the army or police as these jobs require physical strength. I would however, argue that it would be wrong to say that women are less able than men in certain jobs. In fact, women may be better at controlling a situation by communicating more effectively. Police and military jobs require more than just physical strength. Teamwork, leadership and communication may be just as important.

It could be argued that even physical strength can be increased by effective workouts and muscle training. Women who join such jobs do undergo rigorous training and are no less than men when they are on the job. It is also a matter of personal choice. More and more men are now entering fields such as nursing and teaching which were earlier thought to be a woman’s domain. So, it should come as no surprise if women choose to enter the police and armed forces.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that women should have the same role as men in police and armed forces. It is the need of the times.