Punishment to criminals in the form of prison, cash penalty is widely used around the world from ancient times. Many people have argued that young people must be punished in the same way as the adults are being punished. In my opinion, I do not agree with the above statement as same punishment to the young ones and adults will have terrible output.

The environment of the prison is horrible for the young ones, young ones are pretty immature and their minds are under construction at early stages of life, most of the young one commit crimes either they are forced to do or they do by accident. The decision of selecting what is right or what is wrong is insufficient in youngsters. Take an example, in most of the trafficking cases, the majority of the criminals are youngsters, drug addicted and orphan, punishing them with the same brutality is an injustice to them and this punishment at an early age will make them stubborn and resistant to the punishments of laws and regulations.

from another angle, the environment of jail is always been harsh for the youngster which in turn make them stronger to commit criminal activities and the prison environment may provide a good platform to them for making contacts and learn new tricks from the older generation. For an example, youngsters are premature in terms of mental development, can be approachable easily, keeping them with adults can deteriorate their minds, which results in to born of new criminals for the society.

In conclusion, punishment on the basis of age is a very critical issue for the law regulators and the society. Keeping all of them together in the same prison can have a detrimental effect and punishing the young ones in the same way adults are being punished will have negative output to the society by means of arousing new criminals.