Celebrities such as movie stars, sportsmen and musicians generally earn a large sum of money for the services they do. It has been believed some people that these stars are being overpaid considering the necessity of the job they do. I too believe that the sum these people make in such a short-term is too high and there are people those who do other jobs in the country that are critical for the welfare of the people.

Why are personalities belong to the entertainment industry are paid higher salaries? One of the major reason is the fame that stars have, helps business people to create a huge market for their movies or products that they launch across the globe. It can be argued that stars put in a lot of hard work and they have to face tremendous competition to reach the top position in the industry in which they work in. So this achievement naturally rewards them with fortunes. In addition to that people say that this popularity is only short-lived as the newcomers will come soon and replace them during the course of the period. For example, sportsmen are expected to retire in their mid-thirties and movie stars and musicians face threats as and when the energetic new entrants are spotted in the limelight.

However, there are other professions which are more significant for the development and welfare of the nation and its citizens and are historically paid very less. For examples services that are provided by teachers, nurses and military men are making an inevitable contribution to the countries literacy growth, well being of the citizens and security to the nation as a whole. I believe that providing them with better packages will encourage and motivates them to stay in the profession for long-run and contribute for fellow citizens growth and well-being.

In conclusion, though there are arguments put forth by that support the higher-earning of celebrities seems to make them valid, considering that there are no value additions to the public, I personally believe they are overpaid than what they deserve. On top of that, the government shall take into consideration the importance of professions such as teaching and nursing, must take the necessary action to ensure their better living in the country.