Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford.

What are the reasons for this behavior?

What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is a fact that many people become debtors by spending on products which are not required and are unaffordable. I believe the main reason behind this notion is that advertisements persuade people to buy such products and the most viable solution is a public awareness campaign warning people about the consequences of spending so much and getting into debts.

The primary cause of this phenomenon is that media convince people to buy expensive products. This is to say that media demonstrate the use of a product in a manner that a viewer starts feeling the need for it. The result of this is people believe that a product will make their life easier and happier. Consequently, people buy the product even if it is out of their purchasing power, and end up taking loans from banks. For example, a recent government survey found that 63% of car buyers have bought cars that are costlier than their annual salary package.

To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the adverse consequences of spending more than they can bear to spend. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this predicament and allow people to be more open and honest about it. For example, a similar initiative in China resulted in 32% decrease in personal loans that were availed by people to buy expensive items.

In conclusion, people gain hefty debts by purchasing unnecessary and expensive items because media influence them to buy certain products. However, it can be addressed by educating people about the terrible ramifications of overspending.