Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advertising world has never been as flourished as it is in this decade where the whole world just functions on the basis of the product's varied advertisement. Purists have been always very vocal about the order and convenience advertisements bring to our lives on the other hand controversies do bring the same aspect of advertisement down by showing the mirror to the society which ends up hoarding things just because advertisements make them feel inadequate. This essay tries to subtly argue about both sides of the coin and let the reader decide on their own.

I agree that there have been numerous occasions where I feel compelled to buy things just because it gives me instant gratification and brings me happiness. On the other hand, no denial everyone is struggling in their lives these days due to work or other pressures so these advertisements give an emotional upper hand when we end up buying stuff even if we don't need living us feeling adequate and powerful.

Agree that advertisement does end up letting us shell out more than we really need but there is also no escape from the fact that these take consumers to the world of choices and information which was never as readily available as it's now. No matter where you are in the world, you are always well informed with all the options available so to aid you with the right choices. On the other hand, advertising also leads to a better valuation of the products where information of all the products are out in the market space among everyone making everyone aware of the valuation system.

Overall, I feel both the aspect of advertisement weigh equally in both cases as it simply doesn't scale enough for one side of the story only. These are two sides of the coin and consumer should be able to think enough before making any decision.