Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world, advertisement has become a significant tool for marketing a product. Some people argue that advertisement induces us to buy products that we do not need while others opine that it creates awareness about new products that will improve our lives. I strongly believe that the latter is more correct as will be explained below:

To promote a product, companies propagate only the positive sides of the product to make it attractive, thus, consumers are inclined to purchase the products even when they are not required. Worse still, they buy the products, ignorant of the full picture. One such example is herbal products and weight loss supplements. In data published by the daily New York Times, the use of these products to lose weight has seen a significant increase in recent times, whereas, health experts believe that a safer way to lose weight would be through dieting and exercises. My friends who used these products have now repented of their choices.

Moreover, teenagers are often attracted to advertisements since most of them own mobile phones. These advertisements distract them from their studies by creating a desire in their minds for products they do not need. Frequently cited examples are the software games that are constantly advertised through social media. These games could alter their performances in their studies if not controlled. Additionally, it could distort their saving habits as expenses on these unnecessary games are sometimes considered a waste of money.

Generally speaking, it can be seen that despite the benefits of advertisements such as product awareness and promotion, it creates an impression in the consumers’ minds and they end up buying products they do not require. Therefore, it is highly recommended that a thorough research is done before buying products to avoid, being manipulated by advertisements.