Some people hold the opinion that advertising plays a vital role in convincing consumers to purchase products. However, others opine that advertising has lost its importance since many people have started ignoring it. I believe that advertising is still a primary way for many companies to sell their goods and this essay will elaborate on the same in the following paragraphs while discussing both the viewpoints.

On the one hand, in the current times, industries are using a plethora of marketing techniques such as captivating packaging designs, coupons, hefty discounts and other attractive offers in order to attract customers and boost their sales. Moreover, some companies reach their target audience with the help of sophisticated technological advancements such as email newsletters and online promotions to increase their customer count. For example, according to a survey conducted by Times of India, there was a huge rise in online sales in the past 5 years with a considerable change in the advertising methods and strategies used to attract consumers. Hence, it is evident that although there are changes in the advertising approaches, they still have an indispensable role to play in persuading people.

On the other hand, some individuals claim that they are less likely to pay heed to advertisements as they are omni present. Although it is possible to skip messages from some advertisers, it is impossible to resist the appealing offers that appear on the screens of mobile phones. To exemplify, many mobile users are reluctant to stop their urge to check the deals that are trending and thus they unintentionally click on the offer messages.

To conclude, advertising is still a potential leader in grabbing the attention of buyers even though some people try to disregard it.