Few subjects ignite more heated debate than educational system. When it comes to deciding whether focusing on practice or theory, opinion is still divided. It is no surprise that many complain the lack of practical activities, claiming that those skills play a shaping role in mastering tasks and solving problems. The aim of this essay is therefore to analyze this delicate statement and weigh the pros and cons of it.

Bedrock of a competitive economy, education is a strategic field that should prepare young generations to face the challenges of the future. Schools and universities are to some extent forge of talents, dreams, and hopes where motivated young students should gain the necessary abilities to accomplish tasks. There is no doubt that a practical approach is always the most effective way to learn something new. While listening or looking can are passive actions, practice is actually the path to follow when it comes to mastering something unknown. Although practice is a tremendously efficient weapon, theory has its importance as well and this for several reasons. First of all, it is essential to understand what one does. A sound theoretical background provides vital information how for instance a machine works or helps to overcome problems.

Nevertheless, it is true that teachers put accent on theory more than practice. Teachers should encourage students to boost their practical abilities by trying out and doing. It is only through mistakes and failure that success comes. By learning from their own errors, students will have the opportunity to observe their progress and to hone their skills.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that practice should play a major role in teaching. When it comes to learning, practical experience is a formidable manner to tune up abilities and become an expert.