Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that in various stages of education a considerable amount of time is utilized in understanding the facts instead of providing practical skills. I believe each level has the required proportions of practical and theoretical knowledge and that it also depends on the teaching methods to the instructor.

Learning facts before attempting their implementation has several benefits. It is imperative to receive a clear understanding of the basic concepts. This will help avoid some of the errors or accidents. For example, in chemistry, students must be aware of the basic formulas and their chemical reactions. This could help avert some accidents and explosions, as the students will be prepared beforehand. Moreover, it will take less time polishing the students’ practical skills.

Sometimes the instructors used certain techniques to introduce simultaneous learning of theoretical and practical tasks which help students learn faster. For example, to teach students counting a teacher may introduce class activities. This helps students to get an idea on how to count in real life. But these activities are time consuming and may result in incomplete coursework.

In conclusion, there are various proportions of theoretical and practical knowledge imparted at different stages of education and it is also dependent on the teaching method of the instructor.