Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout a student’s acquisition period from tertiary level to universities, a fair amount of time is spent on learning theoretical facts and not ample efforts have been concentrated on functional curriculums. Although know-how of the basis of a particular major is beneficial, I firmly insist that pupils should be more familiarized with practical aspects of the theories.

Unique to second level education in myriad of schools around the world, is the significance of paying a close attention on how a particular arithmetic problem is solved or where momentous theories are based on. This, if is been placed a consecutive emphasis on, would have negative impacts on learners, culminating in their less fondness to gain extra information on those subjects, consequently. Iranian schools, as a salient instance, share too much theoretical-based information on a specific topic to their students. Had they not been obliged to learn overwhelming otherwise useless problems, in some cases, students could have been able to be more engaged with practical aspects of their major and would be more satisfied with their education period now. Hence, making students to memorize all the details of a theory do not necessarily assure that they will be more competent in their prospective career.

Another point to consider is that students had better gain preliminary experience to be more appropriately engaged with their future company in which they might have been recruited. The Significance of the functional skills they are being instructed, not surprisingly, is more comprehended. The generous number of Western institutions, for instance, provides their educators with an internship opportunity to work in renowned companies in their corresponding majors. In this way, not only do students gain a valuable experience during their internship, but also they can investigate their aptitude in their major and decide if they want to continue their course and obtain higher qualifications.

To recapitulate, although learning basic facts and theories of a specific subject is deemed to be indispensable, this should not be overrated and other experimental and practical-based experiences should be more privileged among learners.