Some people say that in all levels of education from schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Education is now mandatory for all human beings on earth with equal importance theoretical and practical knowledge. This raises a claim of pedagogy being unequal in primary as well as in tertiary institutes. According to people, more than required time is spent on understanding principles. As a result, children cannot acquire adequate practical knowledge which is more essential. I completely agree with this claim. Supporting points for my claim are discussed below.

The current education system is theory oriented. Throughout the leaning at institutions, principles and facts are given more importance in classrooms as well as in exams. For example, the teacher teaches scientific principles in-depth in school but their applications in the real world are never explained. Consequently, pupils have knowledge without any awareness of its usage. Likewise, in universities, professors give priority to the lectures and books instead of workshops and practical labs.

Moreover, another possible reason behind an imbalance of education is an insufficient dedication to practical real-world example and understanding of its linking with theory. In fact, reality is too different and complex as compared to basic theoretical principles which are taught in primary and tertiary education. For example, in the bachelor of computer science, basic computer languages and their simple examples are taught. However, real-world applications are way complex programs with a mixture of computer languages. This proves that students have knowledge but they don’t know how to apply. According to research, only a quarter of the total study time is given to pragmatic examples which is less than required.

In conclusion, I think that the current education system utilizes most of their time on facts which creates an imbalance by decreasing the dedicated time for practical. Ideally, it should have a balance of both and that can be achieved by moving focus towards practical applications rather than theories.