Some people say that children given pocket money every week will have fewer money problems when they become adults. Do you agree or disagree?

When we were kids we usually ask for money from our parents, sometimes we were given pocket money weekly or per day. Some people think that it’s better for children to take pocket money, to know how to use it and don’t have money problems when they become adults, others disagree with this idea and believe the opposite.

On one hand, some people think that given pocket money, help children in the future how to deal with when they start making money. First, earning money at early age, help kids to understand the meaning why they are receiving it and know how, when, and where they can use it. Second, pocket money let children know how to manage their expenses, try to save money to buy anything they want, and depend on themselves. Moreover, when they become adult, this way will show it for their kids and teach them what to buy and when they should spend this money. For example, when I was kid, my dad used to give me a small amount of money each month and taught me how to manage and when I can use it. In my opinion I agree, since this way will lead us to be depended and know the value of the money that we are making it.

On the other hand, several parents prefer not to earn their children money, only when needed because it will impact negatively on them when they are adult. First, children at young age when have money will start spending them randomly on unused stuffs and keep asking for more and become irresponsible person. Second, some parents think that their kids must not hold money only for necessary, because they might lose it and won’t pay attention and some kids are reckless. However, having pocket money at early, won’t encourage them to work and become depended. For example, one of my friends until this age he still relies on his parent money, he didn’t continue his studies neither search for a job. From my side I disagree, where parents should teach their kids how to deal with money and be responsible person in the future.

In conclusion, some people think that given children pocket money is important, since they won’t face problems when they are adult, others disagree and believe are still young to take this responsibility. In my opinion, I prefer from the parents to give pocket money and teach them the value of it, to understand why they are doing this and for what purpose.