Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Diverse cultures and traditions have evolved since time immemorial. These cultures are transcending boundaries as a result of globalization. A certain category of individuals feel that the culture and character can be deduced based on the style, the way one dresses himself/herself. However, I strongly feel that though it is slightly possible to identify the culture based on the clothing, it should not be the base to judge one’s character.

It is quite inevitable that dress can reflect the culture and tradition. This is because every individual culture has its own indigenous sartorial style. For instance, Sikhs have a turban robed around their head which is their identity. Likewise women practicing Islamic religion thoroughly, venture out in Burkhas. So, these particular choice of clothes and style leads to conclude upon their culture and tradition, but it does not aid to specify their character.

Character is defined by one’s own personality, based on one’s ethics and virtues. The thought process and behavior of each person varies from one another. Judging one’s character by his attire would definitely lead to astray. Consider an example of an insurgent or an anti-social person. His mind is hardwired to indulge in illegal activities and terrorism. Though he conceals this under decent, formal or usual clothing as others, his intention towards the society are cruel and his probable actions could definitely cripple the society. Hence, I feel if he was judged by his clothes as a law abiding citizen, that would be a definite mislead. Therefore clothes should not be the deciding factor on which a person’s character is based.

In conclusion, even though assumption of traditions and cultures can be derived from the sense of clothing, it should not be enlisting their features to conclude upon individual's character. The dressing style can possibly be just an identity but does not reveal the true character of a person.