People don’t read newspapers or watch tv news but they rely on internet for news. Is that positive or negative development?

Internet,with no doubt, has completely transformed the way we lead our lives now. We hardly find an area or sector which is untouched by internet and technology. The major breakthrough is in the field of news. World Wide Web has rendered everybody the benefit of keeping themselves updated with the latest news and events around the world. This is definitely a positive evolution.

It was not so long that many used to rely on newspapers or bulletins to be abreast of occurrences in not just their country but also on other parts of the world. Catching up with the news was considered a task when one has to either watch the news hour or wait for the next day for the headlines. But thanks to the internet, news and information that one wants to seek are available at finger tips by press of a button on mobile phones. Due to these advancements, we are able to read all the current events regardless of where we are. Either in office or at a restaurant or if we are completely on the other side of the globe, we can scroll up for the news on laptops and mobile gadgets.

The perk with internet news reports is the speed, coverage and relevance which television news or journals sometimes lack. News broadcasts and news publications may not be able to cover all stories around the country or the world. Also, these mediums cannot circulate news as fast as internet. Finally, when it comes to relevance, different age groups have varied stories of interest such as youth may be are more concerned about their favourite football club, women may be are interested in movies and businessmen in stock markets. Internet provides the convenience to browse the targeted news.

Therefore, for multitude reasons the current generation depend on internet for news rather than the conventional practice of reading periodicals and watching news prime times.