In this day and age, people don’t have to wait for news to be broadcasted on their televisions sets and radios or be delivered to their homes via a newspaper. Instead they simply get it on demand via the internet.

Traditional medium of news is now fading away as more and more cheaper alternatives are available. As a corporate entity delivering news, it’s much easier to connect with their audience via social media or internet blogs than via traditional means as it is not only cheaper but more convenient. As the new generation hooks up on internet and social medial, content and news discovery becomes a seamless experience. Also, the internet is accessible to everyone, which gives independent journalist an opportunity to report news in a more independent manner in countries where the news agencies are controlled by the government. However, news delivery via internet is a double edged sword. Where it guarantees independence in news reporting, it lacks accountability of the article written by the journalist. Also, journalists are now trying to generate more clicks on their website and in doing so are resorting to fake news and reporting news that are not properly vetted and researched. Many traditional journalists argue that this is worse than state controlled media.

In my view, this is a positive development as we’re no longer bound by limited means of news discovery. If we use well established sources on the internet for news discovery, we will get more accurate and faster news as compared to traditional channels.