Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

People often consider that a person can be described based on the clothes they wear. In my opinion, these are simply assumptions and are not applicable for all people. The essay will discuss my views for the disagreement.

To begin with times have changed and a major proportion of the people’s style of clothing have changed to match their needs. Most people wear clothes according to their level of comfort. People tend to wear certain kinds of uniforms according to the type of job they do. This can be related to their office culture to a certain extent but not the general culture. Furthermore, it would be difficult and biased to judge a person by their clothes. For example, a thief wearing a suit and pant cannot be considered to be a gentleman. In order to know ones character more information is very much important.

However, in some cases it can be assumed about a persons’ character when comparing between two people. For example, a woman wearing a scarf is considered to be more religious than someone who is not wearing one. But in reality both could be equally religious but their opinions on wearing scarves may vary. It is not a part of the actual culture but simply their choices based on their opinions. It is also important to take into consideration their social culture that might influence their choices.

In conclusion, though assumptions can be made about a person based on their preference of clothes but it requires a more in depth knowledge about the persons’ life to actually determine their character or their culture.