Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money.

How might having a lot of money make people happy?

What other things in life can make people happy?

With the advancement in industrialisation and modernisation, the world is becoming increasingly materialistic. The fundamentals and dynamics of contentment have been altered largely due to this advancement. Some people believe that only having fat-cheques is the only source of happiness since it allows them to get their desires fulfiled. However, for some people, happiness is in serving to community and having great health.

To begin with, a hefty amount in accounts enables people to live the life they want to. To clarify, in the contemporary world, the significance of money is irrefutable. Money allows a person to travel to the world, and to explore the beauty of this planet, or to do whatever they wish for. These excursions give them feelings of fulfilment. Furthermore, money also makes people famous. Many people on social media have got worldwide fame just by posting exorbitant luxury items and lavish lifestyle pictures. For instance, on Instagram, the most viewed post are from the page “Rich kids of Dubai”.

There are a plethora of factors, apart from money, which makes people happy. To explain, the objectives of people are not only confined to money. Therefore, their lives goals are macro, and they feel happiness in benefiting society. For instance, Bill Gates, the wealthiest person on planet Earth, has the world’s largest NGO fighting against Poliovirus in under-develop nations. Hence, he feels he contended when a nation becomes Polio free because of his efforts. Similarly, the people struggling with health issues desire for good health and find happiness when their test reports become negative.

To conclude, undoubtedly, people feel contented when they have enough money to fulfil their dreams with the use of money either by travelling or buying an expensive car. However, some people find happiness in serving communities, while some feel happy when they recover from illness.