Some people say the Olympics is not relevant in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the Olympics is no longer fit and suitable in the 21st century. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view.

The first reason why I side with this belief is that organizing the Olympics will only bring forth more risks of getting terrorized these days. In the era of global terrorism, the Olympics will be the most vulnerable target to fearsome terrorists. Because this international event will attract and gather an enormous number of sports fans around the world at one place, this is the perfect chance for the underground organizations to carry out massive bomb attacks which even the surveillance of the FBI and the Interpol cannot fully cover. This means that if there is no more Olympic games, countries, especially the hosts, will no longer be afraid of such risks.

The second reason is that the extremely large people come to see the Olympics will definitely sabotage the host country in some aspects. While civilized sports supporters may take a large proportion, the minority of people with poor manners such as hooligans themselves can vandalize the entire event location. Some may disturb the locals whereas others raise conflicts with other visitors and cause violence. After the event is finished, the crowd returns home leaving the host country with a total mess. Again, the Olympic games are surely relevant in the 21st century when people get wealthier, yet, less civilized.

In conclusion, I assert that the Olympics is not suitable to be organized in this day and age due to the expansion of terrorism and vandalism.