some people say that personal information for a job is futile. do you agree or disagree and up to what extent

In today’s time, applying for the job has become a tedious task. As the application forms require a detailed account of both personal and professional information. Some people think that the personal information is not relevant to the job, while others believe it is useful for the employer.

I believe that personal information creates an image of the applicant in the minds of the employee which can be misleading. I would like to cite an example of a job profile where all the candidates belong to downtown or rural place were not selected for the job. As they require an articulate person. However, there was a probability of having an articulate aspirant from the rural background. This has created a ruckus and people denied to submit their personal details. As it assists to discriminate people on the basis of their residential place.

On the other hand, it can be instrumental in defining a person’s attitude towards work and his colleagues. For example, a married person is considered more stable, responsible and calculative. Whereas, a single person is presumed to be a risk taker, energetic and highly ambitious. This will help an employer to assess the person he requires according to his needs. In addition to it, a person’s hobbies or interest shows his inclination and creativity, this can be used to examine whether the candidate is creative, logical or a diplomat. That enables an employer to choose the right candidate

In conclusion, I would like to mention that although the personal information could be of great use to the employer, but it also creates the ground for discrimination. Together with it, nowadays people are seeking expert advice for the resume which helps them to furnish false personality to deceive the employers. Therefore one can’t completely rely on the details provided by the applicant alone and hence there is a need for a non-judgmental interview.