Art as a subject in school has been arguable topic. While one portion of the world population believes art as a subject is just wastage of time, others consider it as vital portion of human generation. In this essay, first I will show how modern technologies are replacing art, then will show how art helps children and finally present a reasonable conclusion.

Modern technology has become indivisible part of the human life thus life devoid of the same is unimaginable. For instance, computer literacy has become essential for everyone, and one who does not know how to handle computer is considered as illiterate. Due to this modernization, some argue that children should be taught technology related subject as they can help them for their career growth and earnings and are thereby of the opinion that traditional subjects like art are only wastage of time which are worth to be replaced by technology related subjects.

On the flip side, art has been one of the primitive ways of communication and importance of it is undeniable in solving the mysteries of human history; even now it is seen as a medium of expressing feelings, specifically for children. For instance, a child who always prefers its comfort zone can express it’s feelings by means of painting. Apart from this, in this era of competition, while stress seems to be indivisible part of human race, arts can act as a way to release stress. To illustrate, music therapy nowadays is acknowledged to cure depression at remarkable level. In addition to this, arts like dancing keeps child not only fit but also healthy.

To conclude, although arts subjects are essential for overall growth of a person, modern technology related subjects like science and mathematics are necessary for career growth. In my opinion/To opine, although children should be taught all the subjects in primary education, they should be enabled to select subject of their choice in secondary education.