Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects. The reason for this is that they occupy more than twenty-five percent of the time children spend studying at school. Some teachers think that these disciplines are critical to learn at school. However, others claim that they are unproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art should be not beneficial for children for the following reasons.

The main reason why I think that art subjects do not carry any significance for pupils is that they do not contribute to building successful career. After the graduation from school, graduates often get employed as engineers, economists, and lawyers. Therefore, while they are at school, they should be studying more necessary subjects, including maths, physics and history, than music and literature as they are usually useless to their future career prospects. For example, as part of experiment, some schools, in Karaganda city, substituted art disciplines with vocational ones to see how fast the students could find occupations when they left school. The result exceeded their expectancy because their students had better qualifications than those with no change in their curriculum.

However, some teachers state that it is necessary for children to study art at school. The main arguments for this point of view is that art subjects help children better appreciate the beauty of the world. If art were excluded from school syllabus, then pupils would be unaware of the idea behind beautiful pictures, songs and theatre plays. Consequently, they would develop a sense of inferiority to those who study art as an extra-curriculum activity. For example, in the former USSR, because they had not been taught art at school, many students found it unpleasant when they could not answer the questions of art asked by students from the USA.

In conclusion, although art is considered by to be essential in life, students always can learn it separately from other subjects.