Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some people are of the opinion that offenders should be sentenced in jails, others believe that they can be dealt with other different ways. I agree with the latter school of thought as it has the potential to control the crime level in a country.

On the one hand, criminals should be asked to perform these acts in order to eventually result in a positive outcome: reduced crime. Firstly, if they were to ask to donate their currency on affected people for their whole life, on whom they committed the crime, these offenders would consider not carrying out this activity as a vast majority of people perform it for money in the first place. Secondly, persistently educating criminals about how crime devastates people’s lives can change their attitude towards doing it again. For instance, about 35% of crime rate has reduced ever since the Indian government accounted for tutoring offenders about life-threatening consequences of offense to innocent people.

On the other hand, imprisonment has been a traditional way to punish a lawbreaker for many year as he would not be able to have as many facilities as he could have at home, and he should carry out plenty of voluntary work at the prison. This entire distinct way of life is what is considered as a method to transform his viewpoint on committing a crime. Nevertheless, there is a chance that this practice would even exacerbate the offense in a country since every person at prisons is more likely to discuss illegal activities, such as technologies and easy applications to do them. Therefore, learning as many tools as they want while imprisoned, many criminals are more likely to continue this action.

In conclusion, even though it is said that incarceration is the best way to penalize a criminal, this way appears to aggravate the crime rate of a country. Instead, asking them to perform certain things may help combat crime.