Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Not all crimes are same; hence the punishment also should vary according to the severity of the crime committed. Although the current practice is to put all criminals in jail, some believe low-level offenders should be made as volunteers for community services. I agree with the latter, people with no past criminal records and who have done mistakes but at minor level stand another chance to improve their moral behaviour and to relive a normal life.

Firstly, no one is born criminal; few circumstances force people to break the laws of the society. For instance, a young boy would steel a pack of milk from a store just to feed his starving family. Hence few offenses need to be distinguished from the severe ones. They must be used as volunteers for providing services to the society, like the cleaning of roads, planting trees, and working for charity. This will lead to a positive impact on their moral behaviour.

Secondly, if first-time offenders of low-level crime are put together with the other convicts who have performed some severe crime, such as murder, rape, terror attack; they might as well turn out to be brutal offenders later. These criminals might not be accepted by the society once they are out of the prison. Hence to make sure they do not indulge again in such crimes unpaid community services is the best kind of punishment to help them lead a normal life in the future.

To conclude, laws are made to maintain peace and harmony in the society and not to punish people. Distinguishing on the basis of crime level should be done. High-level offense high-level punishment; smaller offense can be given an option to do unpaid service which will serve as a path for improvement and live an ordinary life again.