Some people think that computers and the Internet are more important for a child's education than going to school. But others believe that schools and teachers are essential for children to learn effectively. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The ways in which children today study, both at home and school, are radically different from any previous generation, and the increased availability and relatively low price of modern technology have been instrumental in this change. However, I feel that while modern technologies, such as computers and the Internet, are important in assisting a child’s learning, this learning should be guided and directed by the experiences of teachers.

There is no denying the fact that computers and the internet are popularly used in the field of the education; they can present knowledge in a vivid and novel way. The computer and the internet can also enable students in enhancing their general understanding of how to solve difficulties in study as well as giving them vital skills in readiness for later life. However, the problems are: the information that the computer can show has to be pre-programmed and needs constant updating, for example Encyclopedia’s on DVD-ROM; and contrary to popular belief, the internet may not be a reliable source for knowledge, since there is often conflicting information available when taken from different sources.

A traditional and long-established practice is for children to study and gain knowledge at school, learning skills in various ways taught by traditional methods. A school is a place where students gather to be educated and learn from each other as well as from formal educators. At school, student’s development is orchestrated stage by stage, step by step by experienced teachers, and their acquisition of knowledge is guided and backed up in a systematic way.

I do not believe that it will help students to learn effectively and in long-term manner to overemphasizing the use of computers and the Internet. Rather, I feel the modern technologies can complement more traditional teaching and learning methods, without being used as a replacement for these traditions.