Nowadays, crime information invades both traditional newspapers and news channels on television, so there is a fair amount of people believe that it will bring negative impacts to the public and such information should be banned. In my opinion, I totally agree with this argument and this essay will argue why we should restrict crime news.

On the one hand, television channels will face several issues if their programs do not broadcast crime contents. Because crime is one of the main topics of most news channels, the channel’s editors and directors need to spend more time researching what content will replace crime news in order to full fill their programs unless they already had some ideas. In addition, the number of their audience will decrease if there is no replacement. Having said that some bad consequences will happen if newspapers and online channels remove crime information.

Despite newspapers and news channels will be affected if crime contents are removed from their channels, I am still in favor of that information have to be banned. The first reason is that giving detailed descriptions of crime leads to fear of crime among the public. According to the current report of the Public Security Ministry in Vietnam, about 50% of people who watch crime news having a fear that they will be attacked while walking in the streets. The second reason is that there is a bunch of subjects and contents that can replace crime information. For example, broadcasters can display either news about well-known people, education, or entertainment, which are extremely attractive people instead of keeping sending dangerous news to the public. From those reasons and the realistic example, they should remove crime news from their programs.

In conclusion, this essay argued why crime in the media should be removed. From my sentiment, I totally with this idea which definitely helps to reduce the fear of crime on the residents.