Some people think that environment problems should be solved on a global while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is considered by some people that environmental problems should be solved by a global approach while others believe that a nationalistic approach will be more effective. In my opinion, a hybrid of global measures and nationalistic measures should be used: global targets should be set but these targets should be adjusted for the peculiarity of each nation.

On the one hand, since the effects of environmental degradation is felt on a global scale, it makes sense to approach the issues globally by setting uniform standards. For instance the effects of carbon di oxide which leads to global warming is felt by all countries. Global warming has led to modified climates and an increased amount of natural disasters globally. It could be pointed out that all countries do not produce the same amount of carbon di oxides yet all countries suffer from the attendant effects of global warming. So it makes sense to set the same carbon di oxide limit for all countries

On the other hand, setting uniform global limits may not be practicable due to the peculiarities of each country. For example, developed countries like Germany which already has started using cars and manufacturing plants powered by alternative sources of energy already have a low level of carbon di oxide emission as such will find it very easy to comply with a uniform limit. In fact, these countries my even have excess capacity given the limit. While countries like Nigeria which are highly dependent on petrol and diesel in powering its cars and manufacturing plants may find it almost impossible to comply with a uniform limit thus making the limit un-achievable and pointless.

Finally, I believe a hybrid of global and nationalistic measures should be used to address the issues of environmental degradation. For instance, there should be a global limit which is then allocated to different countries based on each countries ‘peculiarities. In addition, countries like Nigeria which have a long way to go to each their ideal target should be persuaded to come up with a medium to long term plan on how it intends to achieve its ideal target. The achievement of this plan would be strictly monitored

In conclusion, environmental problems should be approached with a combination of global scale and nationalistic measures to adjust for the peculiarities of each nation. This will ensure that the measures introduced are achievable and realistic