Some people think the government are responsible for the rise in childhood obesity, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Childhood obesity is a growing health concern for which some may blame the governments, but others believe that parents are accountable. Although there are areas where government failed to take proper actions to prevent rise in obesity, in my opinion, parents are mainly responsible for this issue.

Some argue that government failure in implementing right policies and regulations causes the rise in obesity. For instance, regulation of food standards and policies on school meals. Lack of these regulations increases the usage of antibiotics and growth hormones in regular food items. It also allows fast food restaurants and processed food makers to use cheap and harmful ingredients to make their products tastier and attractive for children. Children tend to gain weight if they regularly eat high calorie and high fat food items served in the school meals. Governments can control these indirect causes of obesity issue.

Even though it is easy to blame law makers for obesity, it is mainly due to the negligence from parents. Weight gain happens mainly when children have a sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diet. These lifestyles and food habits they learn from their home. For example, some parents do not restrict children from daily watching television and playing computer games for longer time. This definitely reduces their physical activities. When it comes to diet, some parents give packed food and sugary items to small children and do not put effort to give fresh and home cooked food. When processed and junk food products are available at home, children will refuse to eat healthy food items which may not be as tastier as these processed food items.

In conclusion, it is parents responsible to develop healthy life style and proper dietary habits in children and therefore, they are at fault for childhood obesity. The governments can only be blamed for lack of proper policies and regulations on food standards.