Some people think that the government should be responsible for solving the traffic and pollution problem Do the benefits outweigh the drawback

Nowadays worldwide people are facing problems from increasing traffic and pollution. Some people argue that only government should be held responsible to minimize this problem. But other group of individual says that every person is accountable for it and should do efforts together solve this problem. We will discuss here the benefits and drawback of helding government solely responsible for this.

To start with I would say both the problems are interrelated to each other. With the increased numbers of vehicles these days airborne pollution has also increased. In a recent survey 20000 new motor cars are coming on roads every day. So we can imagine the increased amount of traffic and pollution. Undoubtedly Government has the power to enforce certain laws and rules which can result in positive outcomes for this situation. For example we saw odd even policy introduced in Delhi last year. Though this step was criticized by a lot of people but statistics showed reduced numbers of traffic jams and better quality of air index in Delhi for that period.

However along with government individual efforts in this direction can produce better fruitful results. In that way it would be more effective and productive. People can choose to use public transport like buses and metros for their commute which will significantly reduce the numbers of vehicles. Furthermore, they can also use carpooling to decrease the traffic. People should also follow the traffic guidelines. Abiding the traffic rules as well will help in reducing the numbers of jams on the roads.

In conclusion, the benefits outweighs the drawbacks as it is the duty of the government to have strict measures to control this kind of problems. The said objectives can be achieved by the enforceability of law in a hastily manner.