Some people think that the government should make university education free for all students, regardless of their financial situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary society, whether university education should be free for all students in spite of their financial muddle has sparked much of a debate. Some people assert that government should provide free education to university students, whereas innumerable argue that it is not the responsibility of the government. Personally, I am in the favor of the former view.

Education is the key to ameliorate future career growth and success. Firstly, every individual has a right for education. However, many students have to sacrifice their university degree or program due to lack of financial assistance. This is unfair for these students to give up on their dreams and future. Secondly, government should make tertiary education free for all students to avoid inequality or brawl between the rich and the poor. For example, a working class family cannot afford to pay a lump sum amount of fees for their children in a private college. Lastly, government should create public awareness to educate children especially in the rural areas where people can't afford proper living. This will not only benefit individuals for their future success but also play a paramount role for the growth and development of the country.

On the other hand, many people believe that the government is not responsible for free education for university students and every individual should take their own responsibility, unless they are financially not stable. Moreover, government should invest more into the country's infrastructure and healthcare facilities. For example, government should build hospitals which is accessible to general public as medical care is far more expensive than education. This will help to reduce illness and increase the life expectancy. Similarly, government should infuse and improve infrastructure by widening roads and increasing public transport to avoid traffic congestion.

In summary, I would like to concede that university education not being free may have some supremacy. Despite that, free education supports the argument in a much better way. In my opinion, university education should be free for all the students, regardless of their financial situation for the benefit and growth for both individual and the country.