Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere?To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people believe that the government is spending money on arts and this money should be used in other fields more important. In my opinion, art is so important and the government has at least two motives to spend some money on it.

First of all, for centuries, the art in its many forms has been used as an expression form and also communication. The government has the responsibility to preserve and offer ways to population appreciate it. Museums and art galleries are great examples of how the government can maintain and show to population our ancient arts. Throw of ancient art, that represents their age with pictures and sculptures, we can learn or at least guess how was life at the time.

Secondly, art is also culture and entertainment. Music, photography, theatre, and cinema are popular ways of expression these days. Most of them, there is no public money, showing us that there are more people that appreciate that don’t. Nevertheless, there are local cultures or even specific art expressions like classic concerts that are also important but if the government doesn’t help them, they will disappear because they are not auto-sustainable. In that case, the government should work with private organizations to promote these kinds of arts.

To sum up, the government is selected for its people to represent them. One of their responsibilities is preserving our culture which means our art as well. Thus, the government has to spend some money with arts, preserving our ancient arts and promoting popular arts.