Some people think that the government is wasting money on arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is argued that the arts, music and drama are more important than the other subjects. Some students flourish when studying music, art or drama but maths and science are also subjects that are essential in life. I strongly disagree with the fact that arts, music and are more important than other subjects.

I agree with the fact that not everyone has a talent for mathematics, physics or languages and many students only do their best work when they can be creative. Many students simply cannot focus on traditional subjects such as maths, science or history unless they are expressing themselves creatively through painting, song or dance. Some people would disagree with this view and say that art stops young children from spending enough time on the more important subjects and passing major exams.

All the subjects have equal importance, and all the subjects like music, arts and drama should have equal weightage as maths, science and history. No field of interest should be considered more important than the other. As all students are different and have different field of interest, it should be left to the students to pursue their field of interest whether it is maths, science or arts, and drama. Some students love maths and physics pursue a career in engineering, some love science and biology pursue a career in the medical fields, likewise some love music, dance, or drama and tend to pursue a career as a singer, musician, dancer, or actor.

In conclusion, all the subjects have equal importance and I completely disagree with the opinion that art, music and drama more important than other subjects.