Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some would argue that the celebration of car-free day at the global level is an efficacious method of reducing air pollutants, while others believe that there are a plethora of alternatives available to combat air pollution. This essay will argue that although using alternate ways give more benefits in declining emission, I believe that globally car-free day will create awareness among nations.

Other methods like the use of eco-friendly cars will decrease the carbon dioxide emission due to the use of bio-diesel. In other words, these vehicles contribute less to greenhouse gases and as a result, it helps in the decline of the temperature of the earth planet. For illustration, environmental protection agencies reveal that bio-diesel when burn in cars produce only 5% of carbon dioxide whereas traditional diesel in cars produces 75% carbon dioxide. However, I believe that this an expansive approach because engines of cars should be replaced for its proper working and extraction of bio-diesel is also a costly process which is unaffordable by a common man.

On the other hand, leaving cars for a day on an international level will let people think about how much they contribute to causing air pollution. Diesel and petrol use in cars emit carbon dioxide and methane which are poisonous gases and a major source of pollution. Hence, this practice will lead them the use of bicycles and alternative mode of transportation. For instance, in the United Kingdom, on daily basis vehicles are emitting greenhouse gases which later mix with air and cause pollution. I believe that through this awareness campaign people will eventually limit the use of cars in their lives and they would protect their environment.

To conclude, although environmental friendly practices are the most viable solution, these are much expensive, while I believe that car-free day will educate the public and they will inculcate good practices in their routine.