Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It has always been a debate about whether children should attend mixed schools or single-sex ones. Although single-sex schools have their own merits, I believe that the benefits of attending mixed schools weigh more.

Some people are of the opinion that boys and girls should go to separate schools because of two main reasons. Firstly, in single-sex schools, there is less distraction compared to mixed ones, causing children to focus more in class and on their courses. Being attracted to the opposite sex is a natural instinct among human beings, which may distract students from their main purpose at schools and studying efficiently. Secondly, boys and girls have different learning needs, requiring particular techniques of teaching for each sex. For instance, most of the females prefer discussion-based learning, while boys tend to group-based teamwork learning. This style of teaching and learning can only be reached in single-sex schools, where teachers can decide how to teach based on the gender.

on the other hand, I believe that mixed schools provide pupils with lifetime lessons, such as having great relationships with their opposite-sex peers and respect them despite their gender. Learning and working together in mixed schools, children become familiar with their opposite-sex counterparts’ characteristics, leading them to have good relationships in the future. For example, my friend Alice, who had attended a mixed school when she was a student, has more relationship skills with men rather than my other friends who had not attended mixed-schools. At the same time, by going yo mixed schools, students learn that there is no difference between males and females, and they should respect each other based on their personality rather than gender. Unfortunately, in Iran, there is a huge gap between different genders, due to learning from an early age that men and women are different and they cannot attend the same schools.

In conclusion, attending mixed schools or single-sex ones have their own merits, and demerits and people have different ideas which one is better. Single-sex schools lessen distractions and improve focus on a particular style of teaching based on the gender, while I believe that mixed schools cause children to improve in their future relationships, and respect to opposite-sex as well.