In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that these days in some nations/countries more people choose to live alone compared to the past. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative consequences for the person who wants to do so.

opting to live alone has two main advantages with regard to a person’s independence and self-knowledge. Firstly, when a person decides to live alone, he/she becomes more independent and also self-reliant than those who live with their families. Therefore, he/she learns how to stand on his/her own feet, and his/her daily life skills will improve, such as cooking and cleaning, which is a very desirable outcome for him. At the same time, living alone is a very good chance to discover who you are deep down inside away from family’s judgments. Does a person live on his own, he can understand his weaknesses and strengths, can try to improve them, and can become who he/she wants to be.

However, there are a couple of negative results of living alone, for example, loneliness and living costs. Whether a person chooses to live alone or not, his natural instinct for needing other people cannot be neglected. Since everyone needs a companion to share feelings and socialize with, lonely people may become depressed later in their lives because of not having the chance to communicate with a partner. Secondly, to earn a living is very difficult for a person if he/she does not share the cost of living with anybody else. For instance, paying for bills and housing are extremely costly, that is very hard for a person to afford it alone.

In conclusion, I believe that deciding to live alone, which is very popular today than in the past, has both benefits and detriment, like becoming more independent, but depressed as well.