Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills, a person needs to be a good parent.

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

The topic of teaching how to be a good parent, to the young generation at school, is still under discussion. As the years are passing, India’s population is reaching the apex. And with that, cases of more and more criminal activities by young people are coming in the notice. Though, it is of sheer importance for young individuals to learn how to be a good parent, but, the schools should primarily focus on teaching how to be a better person rather. This essay disagrees with the point of teaching how to be a good parent at schools.

Parents are the first teacher of children. Only good parenting skills and a healthy environment can help raise a better individual. Despite this, the school should focus first on teaching good moral values at an early age. A morally sound person can become a better parent and a better teacher. For example, if a person is taught responsibility in his childhood, it is very likely he will be a responsible parent and would teach the same to his children.

Being a good parent is a very crucial task, hence there are many important skills that a parent should know. Firstly, learning to be responsible. As children are mirror images of parents, a parent should be responsible to teach him good habits and healthy life skills. Also, being calm is a very mandatory skill. In the process of learning, children are bound to make mistakes, hence it is very important for a parent to be of calm nature. Thus, a good parent should learn to be calm and tell children the difference between right and wrong.

In the end, learning the skills required for being a good parent must be taught at an early age. Schools and parents must focus on teaching good values and habits, which will result in individuals with better parenting skills in future.