Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills, a person needs to be a good parent.

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

The topic of teaching how to be a good parent, to the young generation at school, is still under discussion. As the years are passing, India’s population is reaching its apex and along with that, cases of more and more criminal activities by young people are coming in the notice. Although it is of sheer importance for young individuals to learn how to be a good parent, the schools should primarily focus on teaching how to be a better person rather. This essay disagrees with the point of teaching young people how to be a good parent at schools, instead, making them learn qualities to be a better human being.

Parents are the first teacher of children and only good parenting skills along with healthy environment can help raise better individuals. Despite this, the school should focus first on teaching good moral values at an early age, since a morally sound person can become a better parent and a better teacher. For example, if a person who was taught responsibility in his childhood, is very likely to be a responsible parent and would teach the same to his children.

Being a good parent is a very crucial task, hence there are many important skills that a parent should know. Firstly, a parent should be responsible. As children are mirror images of parents, a responsible parent can teach their kids good habits and healthy life skills. Secondly, being calm is a mandatory skill. In the process of learning, children are bound to make mistakes, hence it is very important for a parent to be of calm nature. Thus, a good parent should learn to be calm and tell children the difference between right and wrong. There are many other skills that are also important, but, responsibility and calmness are of greater significance than others.

In the end, learning the skills required for being a good parent must be taught at an early age. But, schools and parents must focus on teaching good values and habits first, which will result in individuals with better parenting skills in the future.