Some people think that the modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

The topic "technology impact on social life" is unique and grabs immediate attention. The impact of modern technology on our lives is omnipresent and it is indispensable. There are two dimensions of this argument, a group of people is of the view that technology has expanded our social circle; while other group asserts that technology has adversely affected people's social life and made them isolate. But I opine that with the advent of certain innovations, the world has become a global village that helped people to interact with more convenience and on a larger scale. I will elucidate my stance with valid arguments and examples.

To begin with, one predominant advantage of modern technology is the connectivity and easy interactions with our loved ones living far apart. I would give my personal example here, my sister lives in England and before cell phones and video calling facilities it was quite a cumbersome process to connect with her. With the innovation of audio/video calling facilities she is always a call away; which is the evident positive impact of this phenomenon. To exemplify further, in previous decades, people used to spent their whole life living in the same area and had no idea about the outer world, whereas now with the help of social mediums such as facebook and twitter, people can interact with others living at the other corner of the world effortlessly.

On the contrary, there are evident adverse impacts as well which cannot be overlooked. People are becoming gadget maniacs. These innovations are detrimental for any one's personal life, people have forgotten to spend quality time with family. For instance, nowadays, on the dinner table, everyone is using their phones instead of talking to each other. What's more, parents neglect their children as they are engaged with their phones and laptops which is quite an alarming situation.

To conclude this, I recapitulate that technology has certainly affected our lives in both negative and positive perspectives. But it is an undeniable fact that advantages outweigh disadvantages in enormous ways which can not be neglected.