Some people think that money is the best gift for teenagers. Others disagree. Discuss both these view and give your opinion.

It is argued here that whether providing money as compliment to adolescents are wise or not. It has both effects i.e positive as well as negative impact on them. This essay will put some light on both the sides.

Firstly, when any adolescent is provided with money as a complement they tend to spend on the things which they feel is required to them. When they do spend, they realize that the amount of money which they possessed has been reduced. And, why they want to purchase anything again, which could be more important than the previous purchase, they are left with less money or say no money. It is at this point, they realize, how to prioritize the spends. For example, when I was 15 years old, I was given 10 dollars by my uncle when he visited us during Christmas and i spontaneously spent that money by purchasing a video game CD. Later, when I wanted to go out with my friends for a library, that was a paid one, I couldn’t join them as I already spent the entire money. This resulted to value the money and spend it only when it’s absolutely required.

Secondly, when adolescents are having compliments as money, they may use to for unfruitful purposes and which is not ethical in nature. During adolescent age, they often get mislead by wrong company of friends/people around them. It is at this age, they find it difficult to choose between right or wrong. Even, parents can’t always watch them and follow them to know where they are putting the money to use. For example, during my adolescent age, my friend always used to get money as gift by his grandparents as they often visited him. He used to buy cigarettes with that money, I had advised him plenty of times regarding that, one fine day, I had to inform the matter to his parents, then they guided him and made him quit that habit. It resulted, many of my friends to realize money should be used for unhealthy practices.

To conclude, money as a compliment is recommended only to certain extend, then again it depends upon a person to decide the quantum. If it could be monitored then, its better. Or else, any compliment by way of useful things like books, any sports material etc would be best which will make them occupied in a healthy way. In my view, money to the adolescents should be given with proper advise so that they use it wisely.