Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There exist many well-known museums across the world nowadays. While some believe that they should be a site for recreational purposes, others, however, have the opinion asserting that these places are to educate the public. I, for one, think the former view is correct on the basis of some compelling reasons.

On the one hand, museums can act as educational centers. First and foremost, holding many unique objects related to old times, these museums are of great importance for archeologists and history students. They visit these places in order to either conduct their researches or seek evidence of our ancestors' life. That is, museums can be good sites to ascertain about distinct dynasties and their people whom they would rule on. Second, many anthropologists find museums a suitable place so that they can learn from how people of specific times used to live. As an illustration, the lifestyle of ancient people can be identified through analyzing the unearthed items.

On the other hand, I think the number of people who visit these sites to educate themselves are in minority. In fact, many individuals purchase museum passes mostly to entertain and create a memorable time with their family and friends. Apart from some tour guide agents who provide visitors with brief information about the objects being kept, all the visitors tend to experience centers around enjoying their time. The museums themselves also have not been built as educational sites. Many governments count on these sites as a handsome source of income. Take the countries which have famous museums as an example; the revenue accruing from the selling tickets would be so huge that the local authorities try to urge as many tourists as possible to visit their museums. Thus, considering the purpose of these locations to educate people is just a vacuous notion.

In conclusion, although there would be some attractions for people who want to truly learn knowledge in museums, the majority of visitors opt for them only as a leisure pursuit.