Some people think that newspapers are the best media to learn and get information from, while others believe that the Internet is a better source. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern times, the arrival of internet has opened a gateway to vast amount of information. This has led some to argue that this is the easiest way to get any data around the world, while other believe that newspapers are still the reliable source of information. In my opinion both these sources provide access to knowledge with their own limitations. This essay will discuss both view; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, newspapers have always been a reliable source of information since their inception. They have played a crucial role in raising people’s voice and shaping public perception around the world. Newspapers epitomise the power of a pen that have always become the voice of the voiceless. In times of fake news and rumours that spread faster than forest fire, they provide a source to verified information and genuine content. In addition to this, they promote reading habits among young and have always been a trusted repository of knowledge. However, in modern time of ‘’breaking news’ or “latest trends”, the newspapers have fallen behind. With people requiring information in seconds, newspaper demand research and time.

On the other side, internet is a vast source of knowledge that has hooked the world. It provides information on the go and every second. Its easily available through phones and tablets and contains data of every possible event around the world. However, information on net is not always verified and genuine. Moreover, the easy access to unedited content has become a serious concern for governments and parents. The access of information is just some clicks, have reduced the appetite for research among youngsters. This has also resulted in reduction in concentration span as so much information flows through the mind without making ample efforts.

To conclude, both newspapers and internet are the repository of information and have contributed in shaping opinions and sharing knowledge. While newspapers guarantee verified information, the internet though vast has no mean to identify the veracity of the content.