Some people think that not all criminals should be kept in prison. Some criminals should do unpaid work to help other people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Albeit the fact that people convicted of crime are a matter of security threat to the citizenry, if they are left free from prisons. Certain section of society believe that they must be better utilized in social activities. Whereas, others have contrasting views, opposing such phenomenon. In my opinion, people convicted of minor crimes should only be opted for such services, that too only after scrutinizing each case by specially appointed jury.

Firstly, crimes are of different severities ranging from grave ones such as felony, burglary, and murder to minor ones like theft, pickpocketing, and domestic quarrel. Therefore, minor criminals can be corrected and utilized in social cause. Secondly, senior citizens who have already passed ample time in prison and are guilty of their crimes can be allowed to socialize by releasing them on parole. Thirdly, prisons must conduct certain rehabilitation centers in the form of social and religious seminars giving potential candidates a chance to self-correct their misdeeds. However, only those candidates who have committed socially acceptable crime must be enrolled in such groups. However, to ensure avoiding loop-hole in such a system, prisons must appoint a jury responsible of deciding each individual case. Furthermore, even after releasing on parole, a strict follow-up and surveillance on them is a must.

On the other hand, criminals convicted of heinous crimes such as, mass killing, terrorism etc. are like virus to the society and are unfit to benefit the society in any means. Therefore, they should be kept where they belong to, that is in jails. More importantly, even if they pretend to be corrected, there is no guarantee that they truly have changed. Thus, risk on society is always high in such cases.

To conclude, releasing criminals to carry voluntary work is a good idea, but it is extremely important at the same time to ensure only those candidates who are emotionally fit and socially acceptable are chosen. To do so, proper filtering by specially appointed jury under governmental guidelines is a must.