Some people think the only purpose to work hard is to earn money.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe the only purpose to work hard is to earn money. While this may be true there are others who believe people work hard for a plethora of reasons like personal satisfaction, relevant experience and earning reputation. In my opinion, people nowadays work hard to not only to earn monetary benefits but also to earn a reputation and gain valuable experience. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate with relevant examples and conclude accordingly.

Firstly, in this era of globalization money plays a pivotal role in enabling people to enjoy modern amenities. Although people in modern society need to dress, eat, shop and dwell themselves however no aspect of it is possible without money. Hence people relate money to hard work. In Japan, there are many sectors which employ people on hourly wages, the simple concept the money is directly proportional to the number of hours spent in work justifies the fact the people who work hard will get more money. Additionally, wages are a motivating factor which governs how much effort a person will spend in delivering quality work although it is not the only factor.

Secondly, there are others who work hard for achieving personal satisfaction, reputation or serving society. Voluntary work is a perfect example which demonstrates how people spend their time on helping the needful without any materialistic ambitions. For instance, young doctors from developed nations travel to poor countries in Africa on voluntary missions to serve in hospitals and clinics. Despite the lack of monetary benefits in developing countries, doctors from first world countries earn personal satisfaction, reputation and valuable experience by helping destitute people.

To conclude, it is evident from the above examples that money is not the only persuading factor for people to work hard however there are other factors which people pursue like earning personal satisfaction and gaining valuable experience.