Some people think that parents should teach children how to be a good member of society.

Others, however, believe that school is place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that school is responsible to teach young people how to be a valuable member of society. Although there are some good arguments in favour of this issue, I think family plays more important role to learn this.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why children should learn social values in school. Training children is known as a study field in colleges and universities. In educational centers, the teachers who graduated in this field and so are more familiar with up-to-dated methods of teaching social values can train students. Moreover, many social skills need the educational space and facilities. For example, primary schools of the UK must arrange a police station tour for seven-years-old children with the aim of teaching traffic rules.

On the other hand, I believe that parents have more responsibilities in teaching social values to their children. The first reason is that parents have always been most important model of behavior for their children. Thus, they have to do their own best in society to show the benefits of being a good member to their children. Secondly, since children spend majority of their free time at home, parents must provide an environment in which children get more involved with social skills. Recent studies showed that the principles of social behavior can be taught to the young people in home by exposing them to the educational programs of media.

In conclusion, although parent and school alike should take responsibilities to teach social behavior principles to young people, in my opinion, family is more proper place to learn this.