Some people think that public health of a country can be improved if the government make laws regarding nutritious food but others think that it is the matter of personal choice and personal responsibility.

Due to the escalating pollution and huge population, healthy food is a great concern for many. While healthcare budget for the government is increasing each year, the public health condition, on the contrary, is deteriorating. Some opine that the government needs to pass laws regarding food intake to improve the public health, while others oppose this idea as they believe that it is a matter of individual choice. The following paragraphs will shed some light on this debate before drawing a logical conclusion.

To begin with, healthy lifestyle is a choice and habit of an individual. No matter how many laws are passed and how strictly the government monitors the food quality, if a person does not follow the healthy lifestyle and eating habit, he will surely suffer from health related issues. Thus the choices of individuals greatly affect the overall health condition of a nation. To lead a healthy life citizens do not need expensive food, gym facilities, expert dieticians and so on. For instance, the rich population of a country suffers from obesity, diabetics and many other diseases that are less frequent among the middle-class people. This proves that purchasing ability and budget are not the most important aspect of a healthy life.

On the other side, use of chemicals, preservatives and adhesives in food items should be totally banned and only the government can ensure that. Even after having proper diet and exercise, if people are forced to eat foods that have unexpected chemicals, they would suffer from dangerous diseases. Using unauthorised chemicals, selling expired and low-quality food should be forbidden. Infrequent market monitoring and the lack of quality control for food items are two reasons our market is full of unhygienic food items. The government's initiative can greatly reduce this unexpected corruption and crime in the food industry and market.

To conclude, the citizens of a country have to practise a healthy lifestyle while the government should ensure the hygiene in food production and food sells. Both of their combined initiatives and efforts can greatly promote the public health.