Some people think that public libraries are necessary, while others believe that nowadays public libraries are no longer important. What is your opinion?

Due to numerous breakthroughs in the communication sector, one can access information at the touch of a button, that too, without leaving their home. Owing to such advancements, people have indifferent opinions, while some are in favour of public libraries, others believe that they are redundant. This essay opines that libraries are still relevant these days because of their authentic text as well as helping people to socialize.

People who prefer to shut down public libraries might argue that it will save the unnecessary expenditure of governments without having any serious ramification. Since state libraries are funded by governments, a significant portion of taxpayers’ money is directed towards their up-keep. If these buildings are closed, this precious fund can be used for other critical issues such as child welfare or empowering women. Since information about any topic can be found over the internet, closing them will not make any significant impact on people’s life. For instance, one can find information about anything using Google search engine. Therefore, this group of people are in favour to shut down public libraries.

However, others, including myself, believe that public libraries are still necessary due to various reasons. Firstly, in terms of the authenticity of the information, whereas anyone can publish false facts over the internet using an anonymous identity, public libraries contain books and research papers from renowned authors whose quality is certainly unmatched. In addition to that, visiting such a library provides a visitor with an opportunity to interact with other readers eventually horning one’s interpersonal skills. Last but not the least, these libraries impose a membership fee which is ploughed back in the maintenance of them, so the argument of the unnecessary burden of governments’ funds is preposterous. Owing to all these reasons, I strongly believe that these state funded libraries are still relevant in today’s virtually connected world.

To conclude, even though the internet has the potential to cater information at the touch of a button, the quality of content is questionable. Undoubtedly, public libraries have an upper hand when it comes to providing reliable information compared to the online resources along with an opportunity to socialize with other readers makes cardinal for our society.