Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Although public libraries are considered not to be required anymore by some people, others oppose this view point. In my opinion, I believe that nowadays, due to modernization, internet has beginning to rival the importance of libraries.

On the one hand, digitalization is the major reason as to why a few people assert that libraries are not needed further. In the past, people did not have access to the technology; therefore, they often used to visit libraries for reading books or newspapers. However, these days, people can get the required information from the internet just at one button click without having to step outside their homes. For instance, as per a survey conducted in the US, 90 out of 100 people depicted their priorities to read on the internet instead of the libraries because of the ease of access to information.

On the other hand, some people believe that libraries are must because they think that reading at libraries is more interesting as they provide them a platform to socialize and exchange information with others. In other words, when people visit libraries they may get a chance to meet someone who may have interest in reading the same books or have more intensive knowledge than their own level. Therefore, this practice can make reading or learning more enjoyable than reading alone at home.

In conclusion, while people may hold different convictions whether libraries are required any longer or not, I believe that progressive use of internet for information gathering raises a question mark on the existence of libraries.