Some people think that public libraries are not necessary whereas others believe that they are essential for people.

To what extent do you agree with this statement

Due to easy access of vast information over the internet, some argued that government-owned libraries are no longer important. However, I believe that their existence still plays a vital role to provide reliable and accurate data than other sources.

For young generations today, especially students, they prefer to browse the internet for their research studies and school works than visiting public libraries. People find it easier to get information online because almost all topics are already available on the web. In addition to that, they just need to type the topic in the search bar from a certain website and with just a click, various ideas and information are readily offered. Therefore, some people think that the benefits of accessibility of cyber information seem to outweigh the importance of public libraries.

On the other hand, library books have more reliable sources and references than websites, that is why people should still be more vigilant while getting information online. Moreover, vast historical information is printed in old books and manuscripts which is mostly kept in restricted part of public libraries for its preservation. Detailed information from these sources are likely not available online, which entails that public libraries are undoubtedly essential part of society. Furthermore, there are students from economically disadvantaged families, especially from third-world and developing countries, who cannot afford laptops and internet access. Consequently, they would opt to go to public libraries for free access of information to complete their school requirements that cover further research.

In conclusion, I do believe that public libraries should remain as part of our society because of the contributions they make available for the people.